Council approves tax penalty deferrals during COVID-19

April 21, 2020 / For immediate release

AIRDRIE, AB – On April 20, Council voted to amend the tax penalty bylaw based on recommendations from City administration. The amendments will allow property owners experiencing financial distress to delay municipal and education tax payments from June 30 to Sept. 30 penalty-free.

Earlier this month the Province announced a freeze to education taxes at last year’s level and a six-month deferral on education tax payment for businesses from April to September. The Province asked municipalities to explore similar tax relief options. The City is choosing to take a broader approach to support both our residential and non-residential community, by deferring education and municipal property tax for all property owners.

“Public health is our most important priority. We know that many residents and businesses are suffering and their livelihoods have been incredibly impacted because of the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Mayor Brown. “We hope that these relief measures will help those in our community that are currently struggling.”

Administration encourages property owners not undergoing financial stress to continue to pay their taxes on June 30 or remain on the payment plan to avoid large catch-up payments in October. Property owners who need to cancel their monthly tax payments can rejoin later in the year and their monthly payment amount will be recalculated at that time.

“The City has lost a significant amount of revenue because of COVID-19 and property taxes are used to fund many essential City services,” said Shannon Schindeler, Manager of Treasury. “That said, we are here to help property owners that may be struggling financially and we encourage residents or businesses to reach out to us.”

Taxpayers can discuss payment arrangements by contacting Taxation at 403.948.8856 or

Business owners looking for assistance can find information and resources, including support programs at


Media contact:
Shannon Schindeler
Manager of Treasury
403.948.8800 ext. 8838



Contact us

Media relations