City Council

Airdrie City Council has a full-time Mayor and six part-time Councillors who are elected by the citizens of Airdrie every four years. Together they are responsible for establishing corporate policy and setting strategic priorities.


Mayor & Council responsibilities

The Mayor is the chief elected official. The Deputy Mayor position is an eight month rotation and is initially filled based on seniority in terms of years on Council and secondly on the number of votes received in the applicable election.

Council's responsibilities include:

  • to consider the welfare and interests of the municipality as a whole and to bring to council's attention to anything that would promote the welfare or interests of the municipality
  • to participate in developing and evaluating the policies and programs of the municipality
  • to participate in Council meetings, Council committee meetings and meetings of other bodies
  • to obtain information about the operation and administration of the municipality

The social media links on this page are maintained by the individual council members. To follow the City through social media, see our social media page.


Mayor Peter Brown

Mayor Peter Brown was first elected Mayor in 2010 and is now serving his third consecutive term. He is passionate about our community and works tirelessly on behalf of all Airdrie residents and businesses. Mayor Brown also represents the City at regional, provincial and national meetings to advance Airdrie's interests and long-term priorities.

Mayor Brown is an active community leader with an interest in making the community better through volunteering. He attends over 500 events each year and is a strong advocate for seniors and youth. He gains wisdom and inspiration from regular meetings with residents. He enjoys visiting schools and seeing tomorrow's leaders take shape.

He is a member of the Calgary Metropolitan Regional Board, Airdrie Housing Ltd., Council Budget Committee (Chair), Emergency Advisory Committee (Chair), the Joint Use Agreement Committee, Airdrie Main Street Square (chair) and the Rocky View County/Airdrie Intermunicipal Committee.


Councillor Darrell Belyk

Councillor Darrell Belyk was elected to Council in 2013, has lived in Airdrie for 15 years and he and his wife have seven children and eight grandchildren. Darrell has been a safety advisor for 18 years.

He is a member of the Community Services Advisory Board (Chair), Council Budget
Committee, Emergency Advisory Committee, Environmental Advisory Board (Vice-
Chair), and Municipal Policing Advisory Board.

He is involved in Active Airdrie and the Airdrie Home and Lifestyle Show.

Follow Councillor Belyk on Twitter
Follow Councillor Belyk on Facebook
Visit Councillor Belyk's website
Phone: 403.862.8643


Councillor Ron Chapman

Councillor Ron Chapman has been on Council since 2010, has lived in Airdrie for 37 years and he and his wife have six children and seven grandchildren. Ron is a customer service representative at Lone Pine RV in Airdrie. He is also a licenced pilot and a local chicken wing eating champion 9 times in the past 12 years.

He is a member of the Airdrie Library Board Steering Committee, Airdrie Housing
Limited, Council Budget Committee, Emergency Advisory Committee, Municipal
Planning Commission (Vice-Chair), Municipal Policing Advisory Board (Vice-Chair),
and Rocky View Foundation.

He is involved in the Boys and Girls Club, the Airdrie Food Bank and Airdrie Family Services.

Follow Councillor Chapman on Twitter
Follow Councillor Chapman on Facebook
Phone: 403.992.4604


Councillor Kelly Hegg

Councillor Kelly Hegg has been a member of Council since 2004, has lived in Airdrie for 20 years and he and his wife have two children. Kelly is Executive Assistant with the Calgary Public Teachers Association and as an educator has served as a a school principal.

He is a member of the Airdrie Library Board Steering Committee, Council Budget
Committee, Emergency Advisory Committee, the Joint Use Agreement Committee, and Municipal Planning Commission (Chair).

He is involved with the Knights of Columbus and the Airdrie District Hospice Society.

Follow Councillor Hegg on Twitter
Visit Councillor Hegg's website
Phone: 403.862.2035


Councillor Candice Kolson

 Councillor Candice Kolson was elected to Council   in 2013. Candice has lived in Airdrie for eight   years and has two children. Candice is the   owner of a local business, C.K. Markets & Events.

 She is a member of the Airdrie Library Board,   Airdrie Library Board Steering Committee,   Council Budget Committee, Emergency Advisory   Committee, Municipal Policing Advisory Board   (Chair), the Rocky View County/Airdrie     Intermunicipal Committee, and the Subdivision   and Development Appeal Board (Chair) and as   an alternate to the Calgary Regional Partnership. 

 She has been involved in numerous fundraisers   for the Airdrie Food Bank. 

 Follow Councillor Kolson on Twitter
 Follow Councillor Kolson on Facebook
 Phone: 403.828.1448


Councillor Al Jones

Councillor Al Jones was elected to Council in 2017. He has lived in Airdrie for 24 years and has raised a son and daughter with his wife here. Al is the co-owner of a local business, Advance Distribution. 

He has been a member of the Environmental Advisory Board for 19 years as well as volunteering for many events such as the 2009 Alberta Plus 55 Games and 2014 Alberta Summer Games. 

He is a member of the Community Services Advisory Board (Vice-Chair), Council Budget Committee, Emergency Advisory Committee, Environmental Advisory Board (Chair), and as an alternate to the Rocky View Foundation and the Subdivision and
Development Appeal Board.

Follow Councillor Jones on Twitter
Follow Councillor Jones on Facebook
Email Councillor Jones at


Councillor Tina Petrow

Councillor Tina Petrow was elected to Council in 2017. She has lived in Airdrie since 2012 and is married with two children. She has a background in Business Management, Event Management and Mediations and currently runs an Event Planning company.

Tina has volunteered for the BGCA, Food Bank, Airdrie Health Foundation, Festival of Lights, RVS, Nose Creek Players, Creative Airdrie, APL, Volunteer Airdrie and many others. She has acted as the Event Director for the YAY Airdrie campaign, Coordinator for the 2014 Summer Games VIP Gala, the 2020 Winter Games Tour and the 2017 RVS Graduation Banquets. She was also recognized with a 2016 “Soul of Airdrie” Nomination, 2016 BGCA Starfish Award Recipient, and 2016 Donna McKinnon Memorial Award Winner.

She currently sits on the Airdrie Library Board (VC), Community Services Advisory Board, Council Budget Committee, Emergency Advisory Committee, Inter-City Social Policy Forum (VC), Municipal Policing Advisory Board, and acts as an alternate to the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board and the Subdivision & Development Appeal Board. She also serves as a member of the Alberta Peer Mentor Network.

Follow Councillor Petrow on Facebook
Follow Councillor Petrow on Twitter 
Email Councillor Petrow at


Contact us


City Hall
Monday to Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sunday