Skip to content

Community Safety and Social Services Committee

The Community Safety and Social Services (CSSS) Committee is responsible for the policy matters and programs related to the following areas:

• Affordable Housing
• Corporate Safety and Security
• Emergency Management
• Enforcement Services
• Fire Services
• Social Planning
• Youth (non-recreation)

The CSSS Committee is also designated as the City’s Emergency Advisory Committee; a legislative required in accordance with the Emergency Management Bylaw.

Current committee volunteer openings

Thank you for your interest. There are no committee volunteer openings at this time.

Gain a rewarding experience by volunteering on Council committee by taking part in the decision-making process, giving back to your community, and providing guidance to Council on local issues.

Citizen members on a Council Standing Committee will be compensated and reimbursed according to Council's Participation Support for Standing Committee Citizen Members.

CSSS Committee meetings

CSSS meets on the second Tuesday of each month from 9 a.m. - noon. Meetings are open to the public via live stream or in person at City Hall. 

Watch a live meeting

CSSS Committee members

The Community Safety and Social Services Committee is made up of three elected officials (voting) and two citizen members (non-voting). Each committee includes a chair position that is an elected official appointed by Council for a one-year term.

The Mayor is also an ex-officio voting member on all standing committees.

Councillor Ron Chapman Councillor Darrell Belyk
Councillor Candice Kolson
Councillor Heather Spearman