Skip to content

Meet City Council

The City of Airdrie City Council is comprised of 7 members. The Mayor is the chief elected official. The Deputy Mayor position is an eight month rotation and is initially filled based on seniority in terms of years on Council and secondly on the number of votes received in the applicable election.

Council's responsibilities include:

  • to consider the welfare and interests of the municipality as a whole and to bring to council's attention to anything that would promote the welfare or interests of the municipality
  • to participate in developing and evaluating the policies and programs of the municipality
  • to participate in Council meetings, Council committee meetings and meetings of other bodies
  • to obtain information about the operation and administration of the municipality